Football or soccer as they liked to call in the United States is one of the most watched sports in the world. The FIFA World Cup especially the final will be watched by nearly a billion of people around the world. Football also becomes a lucrative sports business and the player is a multi-millionaire especially for the players who is playing in the English Premier League. Billion and millions of money had been poured in this sports and this had become the magic numbers for the football club and for the players. But instead of the million and billion, they are another magic number in football that can elevate the team to legendary height and gave them some rights. The magic number in football is number 3 or what they liked to call as The Treble.

The Treble can consist the number of the trophy the team had to win to earn the right to keep the winning trophy permanently with them. This Treble is mostly for the international football tournament and for the continental tournament. When the UEFA European Champions was introduced in the 1955 Real Madrid with the players like Alfredo Di Stefano, Ferenc Puskas, Gento, and much more had won the trophy in 3 consecutive years starting from 1955 to 1957 which had earned them the right to keep the trophy permanently. To permanently keep the European Club Cup trophy, a team must win the trophy 3 consecutive times or win it 5 times. Real Madrid is the only football team in Europe who had fulfilled these two criteria as they had won again in 1958 and 1960 making them the only team to earn the right to keep 2 European Cup with them. This had lifted Real Madrid legendary status and it is one most sought club for the football manager and for the players.

The legendary Real Madrid team in late 50’s that had gained the legendary status for the 5 consecutive European Cup win

The next two team who had earned the right to keep the trophy permanently by winning the European Cup trophy for 3 consecutive times is Ajax Amsterdam who had won the trophy from 1971 – 1973 and followed by Bayern Munich who had won it from 1974-1976. The Ajax team were a brilliant team coached by Rinus Michel who had a player like Johan Cyruff, Johan Neeskens and much more that had introduced the playing style called as “Total Football” to the world. The Bayern Munich team also had legendary players like Franz Beckenbauer , Gerd Muller, Sepp Maier , Uli Hoeness and much more. Bayern Munich had become the last team to won the European Trophy 3 consecutive times as this feat is still unable to be matched by any team until today.

Franz Beckenbauer had lifted the European Cup 3 consecutive times from 1974 to 1976. Bayern Munich is the last team to won the European Cup 3 consecutive times

Another continental tournament in South America called as Copa Libertadores also have the similar criteria where the team needs to win the trophy 3 consecutive times to earn the right to keep the trophy permanently. The first team to ever did that is Argentinian team Estudiantes La Planta where they had won the trophy from 1968 – 1970. They also had added the Intercontinental Cup in 1968 by beating the current European Champion at that time Manchester United to become the second Argentina team to won the Intercontinental Cup after Racing Club did it in the previous years. Another Argentinian club had become the second team to kept the trophy permanently is Independiente when they had won from 1972 – 1974 but Independent had gone further by becoming the first team to won the Copa Libertadores 4 consecutive with another win in 1975. Both of this club have some legendary status in South America due to this achievement.

In the FIFA World Cup 3 also the magic number for a team to earned the right to kept the trophy permanently and the first and the last team to earn this is the Brazil team when they had won the trophy in 1958,1962 and 1970. The 1970 Brazillian Team were awarded as the Best Team of the Decade and fittingly kept the Juliets Rimet Trophy (name of the World Cup at that time) permanently. This team also earned a legendary status with player Pele, Rivelino , Jorginho, and much more had earned an immortality in the international football stages with their dazzling display in that year’s World Cup and Pele whom considered as the greatest player ever had played his final game with a World Cup win with the Brazilian team. This team still regarded as the best team in Brazil and in the World until today.

brazil 1970.jpg
The 1970 Brazillian team with regarded as the best football team ever

In the European Competition, the Spanish football team had become the first team ever to won 3 major international tournaments consecutively when they had won the Euro in 2008, World Cup 2010 and Euro again in 2012. They are the first team to ever achieve this feat. With a player like Iker Casillas, Andreas Iniesta, Xavi and much more they had achieved this feat to earn the right to be regarded as the competition for the 1970 Brazillian team.

spain 2012.jpg
Spanish football team.

They are another treble where a team needs to win the domestic league title, domestic FA Cup, and the continental champion. The first team in the world to achieve this feat is the Santos team from Brazil with players like Pele, Garrincha, Mario Zagallo and much more. They had achieved this feat in 1962. The first European team to had achieved this feat is the Celtic team from the Scotland when they had achieved this in 1967. The only country that had more than one team to won this treble is from Netherland where Ajax Amsterdam had achieved this feat in 1972 and PSV Eindhoven in 1988.

No team had achieved this treble until in 1999 where Manchester United become the first English team to achieve this. In 2009 Barcelona under Pep Guardiola had become the first Spanish team to won the treble and achieve this feat again in 2014 to become the first team to won the treble twice. For Italy , InterMilan had become the first to achieve this feat in 2009 and Bayern Munich become the first German team to won the treble in 2013.


All this team had been the best team in the competition throughout the year and given some memorable performance en route for their treble especially in the continental competition. Ajax had outplayed the InterMilan in the final that led to the media to declared this performance as the “death of catenaccio”, Celtic had produced nearly 40 attempts on goal to defeat InterMilan in the final, Manchester United had scored 2 injury time goal to snatch the victory from Bayern Munich, Barcelona had outplayed Manchester United in 2009 final and Messi, Suarez  and Neymar had produced a dazzling display en route to their second treble in 2014, InterMilan under Jose Mourinho had produced a tactical masterclass in the final against Bayern Munich ,Bayern Munich had won an entertaining final against Borussia Dortmund in the final and finally Santos brilliant and dazzling display had introduced to the world the samba football.

The treble winning team will always in the list of the top 10 best football team ever as achieving this feat is not an easy feat. As seen on the list they are only several teams that had achieved whether to be included in the football Hall of Fame or to earn the right to kept a trophy. The Treble or number 3 is the magic number in football for any team, manager, and a player to earn them the legendary status for their country or football club.



1 Trackback / Pingback


Leave a Reply